Central Library Service Hours
| Service | Classes Mon.-Fri. | Classes Sat.、 Jul.16・23、Jan.21・28 |
Recess Mon.-Fri.、 Jul.7、Jan.12 |
Recess Sat.、 Nov.2・4、Dec.25～28 |
Sun.、Holidays |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Open hours | 8：00－22：00 | 9：00－20：00 | 9：00－20：00 | 9：00－18：00 | 10：00－18：00 |
| 1F Circulation |
9：00－22：00 | 9：00－18：00 | 9：00－20：00 | 9：00－18：00 |
10：00－18：00 ※1（ABC only） |
| 1F Reference |
9：00－17：30 | None | 9：00－17：00 | None | None |
| 1F Audio-Visual Corner |
9：00－18：00 | None | 9：00－17：00 | None | None |
| 2F Computer Room L1・L2 | 8：45－22：00 | 9：00－18：00 | 9：00－20：00 | 9：00－18：00 | None |
| B1F Learning Commons Service Ｄesk |
10：00－17：00 | None | 13：00－17：00 | None | None |
| B1F Learning Ｓupport Desk | 12：30～17：00 |
None |
None | None | None |
-
Classes（4/1〜7/29、9/27〜1/30）、Recess（7/30〜9/26、1/31〜3/31）.
-
During opening hours from 8:00 a.m.- 9:00 a.m. on weekdays, only the reading areas on B2F – 2F are available .
-
The “Learning Commons” is available during the opening hours of the library.
-
Reference Counter is closed from August 11th to the 17th
※1 ABC: Automatic Book Circulation
Floor information of Central Library
| Floor | Types of materials, Subjects | Facilities |
|---|---|---|
| 9F | General / Research Books (Geography, Anthropology, Arts, Sports, Recreation), Oversize Books Peter Milward Collections Garcia collection |
|
| 8F | General / Research Books (Philosophy , Psychology, Religion) | |
| 7F | General / Research Books (European and American Literature), Wasobon | EUi |
| 6F | General / Research Books (Linguistics, Literature in General, Japanese Literature, Asian Literature, History) | |
| 5F | General / Research Books (Political Science, Economics, Sociology, Education, Industry, Military Science) | |
| 4F | General / Research Books (General Works, Library and Information Science, Law, Journalism, Mass Communication) | |
| 3F | Bound Periodicals (Humanities, Social Sciences) Newspapers (Back issues), Kiyo |
Typing Room |
| 2F | General / Research Books (Natural Sciences, Technology, Engineering) Reference Collections (Science and Technology) Current and Bound Periodicals (Science and Technology) |
Computer Room L1,L2 Library PC for OPAC |
| 1F | Reference Collections (Humanities, Social Sciences) Current Periodicals Reserve Books Audio-Visual Collections Current Newspapers |
Reference Desk Circulation Counter Audio-visual corner Book Return corner Library PC for OPAC Exhibition Area |
| B1F | Undergraduate Collections ・・・Japanese books only | Learning Commons Group Study Rooms Library PC for OPAC |
| B2F | Undergraduate Collections・・・Japanese books only Audio-Visual Collections Doctoral dissertations and master's theses (Request at Circulation Counter) |
|
| building no.2 depository (Request at Circulation Counter) | Bound Periodicals (before 1990) Kiyo(before 1990) |
- Kiyos : Academic journals published by Japanese Universities. Some kiyos published before 1990 are shelved in building no.2 depository.
- Newly published(-arrived) journals : Journals published in current year(1st floor: Humanities and Social sciences, 2nd floor: Science and Technology)
- Back number of journals : Journals published in one or more years before (3rd floor：Humanities and Social sciences, 2nd floor: Science and Technology). Some unsubscribed journals and journals published before 1990 are shelved in building no.2 depository.
- Doctoral dissertations and master's theses: Please apply at circulation counter when you would like to use Doctoral dissertations and master's theses of Sophia University graduate school.
- Garcia collection : Materials systematically collected by Mauro Garcia(1906-1982); books related to Philippines, periodicals, academic conference/ University publications, original source of the Occupation of Japan, and so on. You cannot check out these materials which are semi-rare books.
- Rare books : Materials which have scarcity and academic value. Please apply at reference counter when you would like to use. Please ask reference counter for further information. You cannot copy rare books.
- Peter Milward Collections: Materials related to Shakespeare, religious background during Renaissance period, and the English Reformation.
- Donation books and journals by Kotaro Tanaka: Collection of donated books and journals by Kotaro Tanaka, who was once a professor of law faculty in Tokyo University, chief pf Supreme Court of Japan, and justice of International Court of Justice(The Hague).